Community High School District 94

326 Joliet Street, West Chicago IL 60185

Contact:  Mary Randle's email, 630/876-6556
Community Relations Coordinator


June 28, 2006

Four CHS Students Named Finalists in AAPT Photo Contest

Four Community High School students have been chosen as finalists in the 2006 American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT)/Lexmark Photo Contest. Matt Miller, Kevin Rosenquist and Eric Wyman are from West Chicago, and Kimberly Wanous is from Winfield.

The contest was open to students in grades 9 to 12 from high schools around the country. Out of the multitude of entries, 100 images were chosen for display at the AAPT Annual Conference in Syracuse, New York in July. Those attending the convention will vote on the winners. $10,000 in cash prizes will be distributed. The photos were judged upon the quality of the photo and the accuracy of the physics in the explanation that accompanied each image.

All of the Community High School finalists were juniors in Annette Rubino's Physics class this past school year. "I'm very pleased for our finalists," said Rubino. "I have attended this annual convention before and recognize the high profile that the photo contest has."

# # #